Santana - Marathon [Columbia Records FC 36154] (September 1979)

Released: September 1979
Country: US
Label: Columbia Records
Catalog: FC 36154
Genre: Rock, Latin, Funk

Item# SR-COFC36154
Ratings: C=VG; LP=VG+

T R A C K L I S T:
01 Marathon
02 Lightning In The Sky
03 Aqua Marine
04 You Know That I Love You
05 All I Ever Wanted
06 Stand Up
07 Runnin'
08 Summer Lady
09 Love
10 Stay (Beside Me)
11 Hard Times


LP to Digital [FLAC] transfer bundle
$37.99 plus shipping

Order ships in 3 to 6 weeks.

Submit an album review.

Album Review

William Ruhlmann []

Marathon marked the addition of keyboard player Alan Pasqua and singer Greg Walker's replacement by singer/guitarist Alex Ligertwood in the Santana lineup. Otherwise, the album was notable for consisting entirely of band-written material, although those songs were in the established R&B/rock style evolved on albums like Amigos, Festival, and Inner Secrets. The formula seemed to be wearing thin by now, however, as, even with a Top 40 hit in ''You Know That I Love You'' (number 35), Marathon became the first Santana album to fall below the 500,000-sales mark necessary for gold record certification. (It has since made the mark.)