Peter, Paul And Mary - Late Again [Warner Bros Records WS 1751] (1968)

Dynamic Range Released: 1968
Country: US
Label: Warner Bros Records
Catalog: WS 1751
Genre: Folk, Folk-Rock

Item# SR-WAWS1751
Ratings: C=VG+; LP=VG

T R A C K L I S T:
01 Apologize
02 Moments Of Soft Persuasion
03 Yesterday's Tomorrow
04 Too Much Of Nothing
05 There's Anger In The Land
06 Love City (Postcards To Duluth)
07 She Dreams
08 Hymn
09 Tramp On The Street
10 I Shall Be Released
11 Reason To Believe
12 Rich Man Poor Man

Late Again
Peter, Paul And Mary

LP to Digital [FLAC] transfer bundle
$36.99 plus shipping

Order ships in 3 to 6 weeks.

Submit an album review.

Album Review

Richie Unterberger []

With Late Again, Peter, Paul & Mary completed the transition from folk to folk-rock that had begun a couple of years before its release. Granted, it was a transition as slow and halting as that of an ox carrying a piano on its back, but it did actually take place. You can't call an album that numbers Elvin Bishop, Herbie Hancock, Paul Griffin, Charlie McCoy, Bernard Purdie, John Simon, and Paul Winter among its many accompanying musicians a folk album, after all. As for the music, it was adequate but rather inconsequential, the harmonies polished and pleasing as always. The trio were at this point composing the majority of their own material, with serious-minded, mildly tuneful, subdued, and fairly unmemorable originals, the best of them being ''Rich Man Poor Man.'' They did add some diversity in flavor and arrangement with the churchy ''Tramp on the Street,'' the haunting ''Hymn,'' and occasional orchestration. The most notable track, by far, was their cover of Bob Dylan's ''Too Much of Nothing.'' Previously released as a single in late 1967, it was the very first version of a Dylan Basement Tapes-era composition to reach the charts.