Peter Gabriel - Security [Geffen Records GHS 2011] (6 September 1982)

Released: 6 September 1982
Country: US
Label: Geffen Records
Catalog: GHS 2011
Genre: Rock, Art Rock

Item# SR-GEGHS2011
Ratings: C=NM-; LP=NM-

T R A C K L I S T:
01 The Rhythm Of The Heat
02 San Jacinto
03 I Have The Touch
04 The Family And The Fishing Net
05 Shock The Monkey
06 Lay Your Hands On Me
07 Wallflower
08 Kiss Of Life

Peter Gabriel

LP to Digital [FLAC] transfer bundle
$44.99 plus shipping

Order ships in 3 to 6 weeks.

Submit an album review.

Album Review

Stephen Thomas Erlewine []

Security -- which was titled Peter Gabriel everywhere outside of the U.S. -- continues where the third Gabriel album left off, sharing some of the same dense production and sense of cohesion, yet lightening the atmosphere and expanding the sonic palette somewhat. The gloom that permeates the third album has been alleviated and while this is still decidedly somber and serious music, it has a brighter feel, partially derived from Gabriel's dabbling in African and Latin rhythms. These are generally used as tonal coloring, enhancing the synthesizers that form the basic musical bed of the record, since much of this is mood music (for want of a better word). Security flows easily and enticingly, with certain songs -- the eerie ''San Jacinto,'' ''I Have the Touch,'' ''Shock the Monkey'' -- arising from the wash of sound. That's not to say that the rest of the album is bland easy listening -- it's designed this way, to have certain songs deliver greater impact than the rest. As such, it demands close attention to appreciate tone poems like ''The Family and the Fishing Net,'' ''Lay Your Hands on Me,'' and ''Wallflower'' -- and not all of them reward such intensive listening. Even with its faults, Security remains a powerful listen, one of the better records in Gabriel's catalog, proving that he is becoming a master of tone, style, and substance, and how each part of the record enhances the other.