Frank Sinatra - September Of My Years [Reprise Records FS 1014] (September 1965)

Released: September 1965
Country: US
Label: Reprise Records
Catalog: FS 1014
Genre: Jazz / Easy Listening

T R A C K L I S T:
01 The September Of My Years
02 How Old Am I?
03 Don't Wait Too Long
04 It Gets Lonely Early
05 This Is All I Ask
06 Last Night When We Were Young
07 The Man In The Looking Glass
08 It Was A Very Good Year
09 When The Wind Was Green
10 Hello, Young Lovers
11 I See It Now
12 Once Upon A Time
13 September Song

September Of My Years
Frank Sinatra

Submit an album review.

Album Review

September of My Years is a 1965 studio album by American singer Frank Sinatra, released on Reprise Records in September 1965 on LP and October 1986 on CD. The orchestral arrangements are by Gordon Jenkins, their fifth album collaboration. It peaked at No. 5 on the Billboard Pop Albums chart.

Sinatra was to turn 50 years old in December 1965, and the release of this album along with A Man and His Music and Strangers in the Night marked a surge of popularity in his music. Both September of My Years and A Man and His Music won the Grammy Award for Album of the Year. CBS television cameras were rolling the night Sinatra recorded ''It Was a Very Good Year''. The edited result was included in a Walter Cronkite CBS News special about the singer's 50th birthday, broadcast on November 16, 1965.

Sinatra's performance of ''It Was a Very Good Year'' won the Grammy Award for Best Vocal Performance, Male, at the Grammy Awards of 1966. Arranger Gordon Jenkins was awarded the Grammy Award for Best Instrumental Arrangement Accompanying Vocalist(s) for the same song. This was the first album Sinatra and Jenkins had recorded together since 1962's All Alone. Jenkins and Sinatra would next work together on the 1980 album Trilogy: Past Present Future. []