The Doors - The Soft Parade [Elektra Records EKS-75005] (18 July 1969)

Dynamic Range Released: 18 July 1969
Country: US
Label: Elektra Records
Catalog: EKS-75005
Genre: Rock, Psychedelic Rock

Pressing: Allied Record Company

Item# SR-ELEKS75005
Ratings: C=G+; LP=VG+

Note: 1979 Reissue - Cover has significant wear

T R A C K L I S T:
01 Tell All The People
02 Touch Me
03 Shaman's Blues
04 Do It
05 Easy Ride
06 Wild Child
07 Runnin' Blue
08 Wishful Sinful
09 The Soft Parade

Matrix / Runout (Side A):
EKS-75005 A-1 AR B-14178

Matrix / Runout (Side B):
EKS-75005 B-1 AR B-14178

The Soft Parade
The Doors

LP to Digital [FLAC] transfer bundle
$39.99 plus shipping

Order ships in 3 to 6 weeks.

Submit an album review.

Album Review

Richie Unterberger []

The weakest studio album recorded with Jim Morrison in the group, partially because their experiments with brass and strings on about half the tracks weren't entirely successful. More to the point, though, this was their weakest set of material, low lights including filler like ''Do It'' and ''Runnin' Blue,'' a strange bluegrass-soul blend that was a small hit. On the other hand, about half the record is quite good, especially the huge hit ''Touch Me'' (their most successful integration of orchestration), the vicious hard rock riffs of ''Wild Child,'' the overlooked ''Shaman's Blues,'' and the lengthy title track, a multi-part suite that was one of the band's best attempts to mix rock with poetry. ''Tell All the People'' and ''Wishful Sinful,'' both penned by Robbie Krieger, were uncharacteristically wistful tunes that became small hits but were not all that good, and not sung very convincingly by Morrison.