See also: Genesis

Mike + The Mechanics

  • Mike + The Mechanics - Mike + The Mechanics [Atlantic Records A1-81287] (5 October 1985)
  • Mike + The Mechanics - The Living Years [Atlantic 81923-1] (28 October 1988)


Stephen Thomas Erlewine []

While Phil Collins was pursuing his solo career in 1985, Genesis bassist/guitarist Mike Rutherford formed the pop/rock band Mike + the Mechanics. Featuring Rutherford (bass), former Ace and Squeeze member Paul Carrack (vocals, keyboards), ex-Sad Cafe member Paul Young (vocals), keyboardist Adrian Lee, and drummer Peter Van Hooke, the group released its self-titled first album late in 1985. The record produced two Top Ten hit singles, ''Silent Running (On Dangerous Ground)'' and ''All I Need Is a Miracle,'' which both peaked on the charts in early 1986. Later that year, Rutherford returned to Genesis and Carrack revived his solo career. Mike + the Mechanics didn't release another album until 1988's The Living Years. The record was a greater success than the first album, spawning the number one hit single ''The Living Years.'' After its release, the group was inactive for another few years, returning in 1991 with Word of Mouth, which failed to duplicate the success of its first two records. Four years later, Mike + the Mechanics released their fourth record, Beggar on a Beach of Gold, which was a moderate hit in the U.K. In the spring of 1996, Mike + the Mechanics released the greatest-hits collection Hits in Britain; M6 followed three years later. Young died of a heart attack on July 15, 2000. The band re-formed in 2004, releasing the all new Rewired under the moniker Mike + the Mechanics featuring Paul Carrack. In 2009, after a hiatus that saw Genesis' induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, Rutherford began working on a new Mechanics record, this time with new vocalists Andrew Roachford and Tim Howar on board. The Road was released in April 2011, and followed up by a 22-show U.K. tour.