Dixie Dregs - Night Of The Living Dregs [Capricorn Records CPN-0216] (March 1979)

Released: March 1979
Country: US
Label: Capricorn Records
Catalog: CPN-0216
Genre: Rock

Item# SR-CACPN0216
Ratings: C=VG; LP=VG+
Note: Promotional Copy; some writing on cover

T R A C K L I S T:
01 Punk Sandwich
02 Country House Shuffle
03 The Riff Raff
04 Long Slow Distance
05 Night Of The Living Dregs
06 The Bash
07 Leprechaun Promenade
08 Patchwork

Night Of The Living Dregs
The Dixie Dregs

LP to Digital [FLAC] transfer bundle
$37.99 plus shipping

Please allow two to three weeks for delivery.

Submit an album review.

Album Review

In the 1970s, when fiery-fingered exercises in jazz-rock fusion were all the rage in both the United States and the U.K., the Dixie Dregs brought a Southern slant to the style, injecting a touch of twang into the proceedings. NIGHT OF THE LIVING DREGS (1979) catches the band at a key transitional point. While essentially a studio album, some tracks are from a 1978 concert featuring new keyboard player T. Lavitz, whose synthesizer work would become an important part of the band's sound. Throughout the album, Steve Morse's fiery guitar, Allen Sloan's Jean-Luc-Ponty-on-Wild-Turkey violin, and Andy West's frenetic, popping bass all play demolition derby amid metrically and harmonically sophisticated compositions that still offer plenty of visceral satisfaction. [allmusic.com]